Berkeley Community Gardening Collaborative

School Gardens | Youth Training Gardens | College Gardens | Nonprofit Garden Projects | Community Gardens | Demonstration and Restoration Projects | Affiliates & Supporters | Get Involved

Who We Are: BCGC is composed of diverse community garden members who share a common commitment to organic, urban agriculture and access to healthy food for all residents of Berkeley.

What We Do: By providing a forum for mutual support and the sharing of common resources, BCGC assists and protects existing gardens, facilitates the formation of new gardens, and advocates food security initiatives in our local schools and city.

Our Mission: BCGC actively seeks to create a more sustainable society by engaging in environmentally beneficial urban land stewardship, which includes urban agriculture, the preservation of open space, habitat restoration, and cultivating community. To broaden its impact and build alliances, BCGC partners with other organizations that share its goals. Land, air, water, and seeds are our commonwealth, which we have a right and duty to protect.


School Gardens

School gardens, on-site at elementary, middle and high schools, aim to integrate organic food production into the curricula and into the school lunch pro-grams. Children are introduced to food production, nutrition, composting, ecological awareness, and cooking and preparing the food they grow to share around the table. Most garden and cooking classes are supported by the Network for a Healthy California Program.

Berkeley Arts Magnet / Whittier School Garden
1645 Milvia Street
Contact: Marlee Blasenheim, marleeblasenheim@berkeley.net

Berkeley Technology Academy Garden
2701 MLK, Jr. Way
Contact: Matt Tsang, matttsang@berkeley.net

Cragmont Elementary School Garden
830 Regal Road
Contact: Marlee Blasenheim, marleeblasenheim@berkeley.net

Early Childhood Development Gardens
1460 Eight Street
1810 Hopkins Street
1939 Ward Street
Contact: Chris Nakao, christophernakao@berkeley.net

Edible Schoolyard at King Middle School
1781 Rose Street
Contact: Geoff Palla, geoff@edibleschoolyard.org

Emerson Elementary School Garden
2800 Forest Avenue
Contact: Jeanette Kjobmand, jeanettekjobmand@berkeley.net

Jefferson Elementary School Garden
1400 Ada Street
Contact: Jeanette Kjobmand, jeanettekjobmand@berkeley.net

John Muir Elementary School Garden
2955 Claremont Avenue
Contact: Rivka Mason, rivkamason@berkeley.net

LeConte Elementary School Farm and Garden
2241 Russell St.
Contact: Ben Goff, benjamingoff@berkeley.net

Longfellow Middle School Garden
1500 Derby Street
Contact: Ellen McClure, ellenmcclureberkeley.net

Malcolm X Elementary School Garden
1731 Prince Street
Contact: Rivka Mason, rivkamason@berkeley.net

Oxford Elementary School Garden
1130 Oxford Street
Contact: Sarah Winer, sarahwiner@berkeley.net

Rosa Parks Elementary School Garden
920 Allston Way
Contact: Chris Nakao, christophernakao@berkeley.net

School of the Madeleine Elementary School Garden
1225 Milvia Street
Contact: Ken Willers, kwillers@themadeleine.com

Thousand Oaks Elementary School Garden
840 Colusa Avenue
Contact: Sarah Winer, sarahwiner@berkeley.net

Washington Elementary School Garden
2300 MLK, Jr. Way
Contact: Colette Rowe, coletterowe@berkeley.net

Willard Greening Project, Willard Middle School
2425 Stuart Street
Contact: Matt Tsang, matttsang@berkeley.net


Youth Training Gardens

Youth training gardens train and employ young people from high-risk neighborhoods. Mentors work closely with youth gardeners, sharing practical skills for future employment and enjoyment. BCGC recognizes that urban gardening offers lifelong learning that can help prevent substance abuse and violence. Moreover, food production is an ecological and sustainable means of economic development that addresses both hunger and hopelessness.

Berkeley Youth Alternatives Production Garden
1308 Bancroft Way
Contact: Melissa McClure, melissamcclure@gmail.com

Berkeley Youth Alternatives Community Orchard
2141 Bonar Street
Contact: Lisa Grady, lgrady@byaonline.org

McGee Avenue Baptist Church Garden
1640 Stuart Street
Contact: Herbert Whitehead, herb36@comcast.net

Sprouts Cooking Club @ Chaparral House
1309 Allston Way
Contact: Karen Rogers, karen.rogers@sproutscookingclub.org

Strong Roots Community Garden
Sacramento Street and Woolsey
Contact: Shyaam Shabaka, sms2020@aol.com
or
Pastor Michael Smith, frostmic1@aol.com


College Gardens

Gill Tract Community Farm (in Albany)
1050 San Pablo Avenue
Contact: Jon Hoffman, Jon2223@yahoo.com

Student Organic Garden Association
Corner of Walnut Street and Virginia Street
Contact: Garden Manager, studentorganicgarden@gmail.com

 


Nonprofit Garden Projects

Spiral Gardens Community Food Security Project
2850 Sacramento Street
Contact: Daniel Miller, daniel@spiralgardens.org

EcoHouse Permaculture Demonstration Garden
1305 Hopkins Street
Contact: Carrie Bennett, ecohouse@ecologycenter.org

California Habitats Indigenous Activists
Ohlone Greenway between Peralta and Gilman
Contact: Carole Bennett-Simons, caroleannbs@yahoo.com
or Dave Drummond, manzanita2@yahoo.com


Community Gardens

Community gardens make plots available to individuals, families, and groups for growing food, flowers, and herbs. Community gardeners use food to feed their families and share with neighbors.

Ashby Community Garden
1370 Ashby Avenue
Contact: Bonnie Borucki, bcb@bborucki.com

Bancroft Community Garden
1308 Bancroft Way
Contact: Steve Moros, smoros.cgartist@gmail.com

Good Shepherd Episcopal Church Garden
1005 Hearst Street
Contact: Este Gardener, estegardener@gmail.com

Karl Linn Community Garden
Peralta Avenue and Hopkins Street
Contact: Mary Ross Lynch, maryrosslynch@gmail.com
or
Karen Fracetto, kltkf@yahoo.com

Northside Community Garden
1349 Northside Avenue
Contact: Michelle Squitieri, msquitieri55@gmail.com

Ohlone Community Garden
Hearst Avenue and McGee Street
Contact: Durwood Wiggins, durwoodwiggins2@gmail.com
or
Catherine Rose crowther, artrosa@yahoo.com

People’s Park Community Garden
2556 Haste Street
Contact: Darin Bauer, Darinallenbauer@yahoo.com

Peralta Community Garden
1400 Peralta Avenue
Contact: David Auerbach, johnyblood@aol.com

West Berkeley Senior Center Garden
1900 6th Street
Contact: Leah Talley, ltalley@ci.berkeley.ca.us

Strawberry Creek Lodge
1320 Addison Street
Contact: Cynthia Morse, nmheart2008@gmail.com


BCGC Affiliates and Supporters


The Berkeley Community Garden Collaborative is working with:

  • American Community Gardening Association, a national organization that promotes sustainabilty through all aspects of community gardening and greening of urban, rural, and suburban communities.
    Contact: 1-877-ASK-ACGA
  • Center for Ecoliteracy, who, in collaboration with the Berkeley Unified School District, works to implement the School Lunch Initiative by linking family farms to schools and offering all students healthy, fresh, and organic meals.
    Contact: Zenobia Barlow, 845-4595
  • Berkeley Partners for Parks, the City of Berkeley, and the Rails to Trails Conservancy to develop the Santa Fe Right of Way into pathways, community gardens, and other choices that are compatible with the neighborhood.
  • The Berkeley Helath Department and Berkeley Unified School District’s Nutrition Services, to make sure that our students get a lunch that is freshly cooked, mostly organic, and locally grown.

BCGC can assist your neighborhood by offering:

  • Resource and tool sharing contacts
  • Technical advice, troubleshooting, and design assistance
  • Compost and seeds to community, school, and nonprofit projects

You can help BCGC!

  • Volunteer your time in our gardens
  • Donate or locate garden resources, such as: irrigation supplies, garden tools, construction tools, building supplies, seedlings, etc.
  • Donate money to BCGC. (Mail checks made payable to Ecology Center/BCGC: 2530 San Pablo Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94702)

Want to garden in Berkeley? We can help you find a plot! Call the community garden nearest you, or call us at 510-883-9096. We check messages once a week.

Berkeley Community Gardening Collaborative
c/o Ecology Center
2530 San Pablo Ave, Suite H
Berkeley, CA 94702
Contact: Corinne Haskins, 510-883-9096

Updated: June 2010