Community Event

  • This event has passed.

Disposable-Free Dining Ordinance Discussed at Berkeley City Council

Tuesday | December 11, 2018 | 6:00 pm — 9:00 pm

School District Board Room | 1231 Addison St, Berkeley, CA 94702

The time has now come for the City to consider adoption of the Disposable-Free Dining Ordinance, which would dramatically reduce the use of disposable foodware in Berkeley.

Read the Disposable Free Dining Ordinance.

Join us to show your support for Disposable-Free Dining at the City Council Meeting!

Background on the Ordinance:

Last year, the Ecology Center joined with other plastic pollution prevention nonprofits and waste experts to craft a comprehensive city initiative to curb single use disposable foodware. We wanted Berkeley’s ordinance to be a model for other cities, going far beyond plastic straw bans to make a deeper dent in the waste and pollution problem. We shared our best thinking with Mayor Jesse Arreguin and Councilmembers Sophie Hahn and Susan Wengraf, who cosponsored the ordinance and introduced it at City Council in the spring of 2018. The City Council referred the ordinance to the Zero Waste Commission. After a summer of soliciting public input, the Commission shared their recommendations with the City. The freshly updated Disposable-Free Ordinance is now coming before council for a “first reading.” City Council will be voting at this public hearing, which is the first of two votes needed to adopt this ordinance. The second vote will take place in January, at the second public hearing.

If you can’t attend the City Council Meeting, we urge you to send a letter of support to your City Council representative. Contact information for Councilmembers is below. If you are part of an organization, please consider sending a letter of support. If you would like a drafted letter to sign, please contact: minna@ecologycenter.org.

Contact information for Berkeley City Councilmembers:

District 1 Linda Maio (510) 981-7110 lmaio@CityofBerkeley.info
District 2 Cheryl Davila (510) 981-7120 cdavila@CityofBerkeley.info
District 3 Ben Bartlett (510) 981-7130 bbartlett@CityofBerkeley.info
District 4 Kate Harrison (510) 981-7140 kharrison@CityofBerkeley.info
District 5 Sophie Hahn (510) 981-7150 shahn@CityofBerkeley.info
District 6 Susan Wengraf (510) 981-7160 swengraf@CityofBerkeley.info
District 7 Kriss Worthington (510) 981-7170 kworthington@CityofBerkeley.info
District 8 Lori Droste (510) 981-7180 ldroste@CityofBerkeley.info

Thank you! We hope to see you there!

Visit Event Website >>
Cost: Free
Please contact organizer for wheelchair accessibility information.

« All Events